NPP opens Wuogon nomination process


The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) has announced it will on Saturday, 29 December 2018 hold a constituency delegates conference at the Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency, to elect a parliamentary candidate for the upcoming by-election in the constituency.

This has been occasioned by the demise of the party’s Member of Parliament for the constituency, Mr Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko.

The NPP in a statement said it has constituted a five-member elections committee to be chaired by Mr Peter Mac Manu to supervise the conduct of the delegates’ conference.

The committee has also been charged to sell nomination forms and vetting of aspirants subject to guidelines approved by the party’s National Elections Committee (NEC) at its meeting on Thursday, 20 December 2018.

Per the guidelines, nominations will be opened on Friday, 21 December 2018 and close on Saturday, 22 December 2018. Prospective applicants are expected to file their nominations on Sunday, 23 December 2018, whereas vetting of candidates will be held on Monday, 24 December 2018, at the party headquarters.

“Each prospective applicant shall be required to pick application forms at a cost of GHS1,000 and pay a non-refundable filing fees of GHs10,000. However, female aspiring candidates as well as the youth and persons with special needs have been given a special dispensation of 50% discount in respect of the filing fees,” the statement said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *